What’s For Lunch? – La Cocina Real

My current favorite place for Mexican in Champaign-Urbana is La Cocina Real, off University and near Lincoln.  Previously the location had been a Dos Reales, but that changed over a year ago.

Mucho Grande Burrito from La Cocina Real

My weekly lunch partner ordered the Mucho Grande Burrito with steak and yes, it was big.

Tacos Azteca from La Cocina Real

As for me I had the Tacos Azteca, which was basically a fish taco.  There were three, filled with tilapia, shredded red cabbage, and other items.  There was a zingy sauce on the side, flavored rice, and slices of avocado.  Everything was tasty and spicy.  At about $9.00 it wasn’t a bad meal.

The service has always been great.  This time I wound up dropping my silverware and after I picked it up a waiter had a new bundle for me.  Fast service, good food, it’s worth going to La Cocina Real!

Leave a comment